The Letter

So it happened. I got a call from one of the schools I applied to for PA school. They called to tell me my letter was “undeliverable.” I figured this meant whatever they sent me was too big to fit in the mailbox, in which case it goes to the main office and I have to pick it up in three days. Sometimes the mailman forgets to leave a note saying we have something in the office, which would mean that the letter was returned. I asked the woman to send the letter again and immediately began staking out the mail-room of the main office. By Monday I went to check the mailbox for the second time and there it was…..completely unsealed and tiny. A flimsy little thing that couldn’t even be bothered to be sealed. And guess what? It said no. Sigh.

I threw myself a little pity party, consisting of me lying in bed moaning about how I was stupid and destined to do nothing with my life. My boyfriend was very understanding. He just laid with me and told me it wasn’t the end of the world. He’s really great about waiting out the storm while I work myself into a tizzy. Eventually I calm down and we talk about it. Now I’ve realized I really need to look more into the nursing programs (my plan B). My adviser says I have a really great shot at nursing school since I will already have a degree in biology with lots of chemistry experience (seems that tortuous chem minor might actually pay off). If I take the route of nursing school I’d like to become an N.P. It doesn’t matter to me where I go for nursing school, so my boyfriend and I discussed it and I told him that I would go wherever he got in for pharmacy. Yes that’s right. I’ve committed the cardinal sin of college girls–following the boyfriend. Here’s the thing though. He’s not the average college boy. He’s twenty-five,so he’s more mature and completely devoted to me. He only wants for me to be happy and if we can be together throughout school than why not? It’s not as if I’m following him so we can get married and I can have his babies. Neither one of those things is on the agenda anyway. I would rather be with him than without, so that we can struggle through school and being poor college students together.

Not much else has happened. I’ve been reading Russia: a Short History while at the gym, but haven’t had much time otherwise, since it’s midterms.

Now amidst my studying I await news from the other school I applied to. We shall see.

Adieu,

Samantha

Leave a Reply

